Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series

by Jeff Kinney (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series
Written in journal style and filled with hand written notes and simple drawings, this hilarious series chronicles the daily disasters of a less-than-average wimpy kid. It's a new school year, and wise-cracking pre-teen Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you're ready are uniquely revealed through a montage of words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary. Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomises the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don't expect me to be all 'Dear Diary' this and 'Dear Diary' that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won't do and what he actually does are often two very different things.

Recognition: Winner Nickelodeon Kids' Choice Award for Favorite Book (2008, 2010, 2011, 2012); Nominee Nickelodeon Kids' Choice Award for Favorite Book (2009)

Series Summary

Series: Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Tags: humour cartoon friendship illustrated school boys
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 14
Should read in order? Yes

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Diary of a Wimpy Kid  (2007)
2Rodrick Rules  (2008)
3The Last Straw  (2009)
4Dog Days  (2009)
5The Ugly Truth  (2010)
6Cabin Fever  (2011)
7The Third Wheel  (2012)
8Hard Luck  (2013)
9Long Haul  (2014)
10Old School  (2015)
11Double Down  (2016)
12The Getaway  (2017)
+ The Wimpy Kid Do-It-Yourself Book  (2011)
+ The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: How Greg Heffley Went Hollywood  (2010)