Multi-Genre Selection

Select at least 2 tags:
Tag 1:
Tag 2:
Tag 3:
Reading Age:

The Chook Doolan Series

by James Roy (Author) Lucinda Gifford (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Chook Doolan Series
Hi. My name is Simon, but you can call me Chook. Almost everyone does.

Chook Doolan is a smart but nervous kid who just wants to be braver. With the help of family and friends, Chook will learn to navigate the new rules and challenges of primary school.

Funny, accessible and relatable, Chook Doolan is perfectly pitched for emerging readers with simple sentences, short chapters, large font and black-and-white illustrations.

Series Summary

Series: Chook Doolan
Tags: first chapter books realistic fiction school friendship humour illustrated
Series reading level: 5+
Books in series: 6
Should read in order? No

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Rules are Rules  (2016)
2The Newest Pet  (2016)
3Chook Doolan Saves the Day  (2016)
4The Tiny Guitar  (2016)
5Chook Doolan On the Road  (2017)
6Chook Doolan Unhappy Camper  (2017)