by Lyn White (Series Editor) Wai Chim (Author)

Book Cover for Shaozhen

   Book 2   
Pages: 192

An evocative and compelling story about one boy living through the 2014 drought in Henan, China.

Shaozhen has no intention of staying in his remote Henan village and becoming another poor farmer: he'll finish school, and then, hopefully, work in a factory in one of the major cities, just like his father. But when Shaozhen returns home for the summer holidays, imagining days filled with nothing but playing basketball with his friends, he's in for a shock. The worst drought in over sixty years threatens the crops that the entire village relies on for income. As the water situation becomes dire, Shaozhen realises he must come up with a plan. But will it be enough to save his family and friends and secure the future of his village?

Through My Eyes: Natural Disaster Zones Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Through My Eyes: Natural Disaster Zones
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? No
Next release: March 2018
Tags: nature  historical  culture  religion  family  illness & grief 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Hotaka  (2017)
2.   Shaozhen  (2017)
3.   Lyla  (2018)
4.   Angel  (2019)