by Carson Ellis (Illustrator) Colin Meloy (Author)

Book Cover for Wildwood

   Book 1   
Pages: 540

When her baby brother is kidnapped by crows, Prue McKeel begins an adventure that will take her and her friend Curtis way beyond her hometown and deep into the Impassable Wilderness. There they uncover a secret world in the midst of violent upheaval, a world full of warring creatures, peace-loving mystics and powerful figures with the darkest intentions. What begins as a rescue mission becomes something much bigger as the two friends find themselves entwined in a struggle for the very freedom of this wilderness. A wilderness the locals call Wildwood.

Wildwood is a spellbinding tale full of wonder, danger and magic. It combines the thrill of a secret world and the buzz of modern city life. Original and fresh, yet steeped in classic fantasy, this is a novel that could have only come from the imagination of Colin Meloy, celebrated for his inventive and fantastic storytelling as the lead singer and songwriter of The Decemberists. With dozens of intricate and beautiful illustrations by award-winning artist Carson Ellis, Wildwood is truly a new classic for the twenty-first century.

Recognition: Apple's Best of the Best (2011); ABC New Voices Award (2011); School Library Journal Best Book (2011); ALA Booklist 10 Best Debut Novels (2011); E.B. White Read-Aloud Middle Reader Award (2012)

Wildwood Chronicles Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Wildwood Chronicles
Reading level: 8+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  fairy tales  magic  illustrated  adventure  nature 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Wildwood  (2011)
2.   Under Wildwood  (2012)
3.   Wildwood Imperium  (2014)