A Swiftly Tilting Planet

by Madeleine L'Engle (Author)

Book Cover for A Swiftly Tilting Planet

   Book 3   
Pages: 320

Fifteen-year-old Charles Wallace and the unicorn Gaudior undertake a perilous journey through time in a desperate attempt to stop the destruction of the world by the mad dictator Madog Branzillo. They are not alone in their quest. Charles Wallace's sister, Meg - know grown and expecting her first child, but still able to enter her brother's thoughts and emotions by "kything" - goes with him in spirit.

But in overcoming the challenges, Charles Wallace must face the ultimate test of his faith and will; he is sent inside four people from another time, in order to search for a way to avert the tragedy threatening them all.

Time Quintet Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Time Quintet
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: science fiction  fantasy  adventure  classic  time travel 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   A Wrinkle in Time  (1962)
2.   A Wind in the Door  (1973)
3.   A Swiftly Tilting Planet  (1978)
4.   Many Waters  (1986)
5.   An Acceptable Time  (1989)