by Laurie Halse Anderson (Author)

Book Cover for Chains

   Book 1   
Pages: 316

As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight... for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate become the property of a malicious New York City couple, the Locktons, who have no sympathy for the American Revolution and even less for Ruth and Isabel.

When Isabel meets Curzon, a slave with ties to the Patriots, he encourages her to spy on her owners, who know details of British plans for invasion. She is reluctant at first, but when the unthinkable happens to Ruth, Isabel realises her loyalty is available to the bidder who can provide her with freedom.

Recognition: National Book Award Finalist for Young People's Literature (2008);Scott O'Dell Award (2009); An ALA Notable Children's Book for Older Readers (2009); Rebecca Caudill Young Reader's Book Award Nominee (2011); South Carolina Book Award Nominee for Junior Book Award (2011); Cybil Award for Middle Grade Fiction (2009); Carnegie Medal Nominee (2010)

Seeds of America Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Seeds of America
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  culture  friendship  historical 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Chains  (2008)
2.   Forge  (2010)
3.   Ashes  (2016)