A Wrinkle in Time

by Madeleine L'Engle (Author)

Book Cover for A Wrinkle in Time

   Book 1   
Pages: 256

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

"Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract".

Meg's father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?

Recognition: The book won a Newbery Medal (1963), Sequoyah Book Award (1965), and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award, and was runner-up for the Hans Christian Andersen Award.

Time Quintet Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Time Quintet
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: science fiction  fantasy  adventure  classic  time travel 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   A Wrinkle in Time  (1962)
2.   A Wind in the Door  (1973)
3.   A Swiftly Tilting Planet  (1978)
4.   Many Waters  (1986)
5.   An Acceptable Time  (1989)