by Lauren DeStefano (Author)

Book Cover for Wither

   Book 1   
Pages: 358

What if you knew exactly when you would die? In the near-future, thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb – males only live to age twenty-five and females only live until twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out.

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust amoung her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape – to find her twin brother and go home. With the help of Gabriel, a servant she trusts, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limited time she has left.

Recognition: ALA Teens' Top Ten Nominee (2012)

Chemical Garden Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Chemical Garden
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Website: www.thechemicalgardenbooks.com
Tags: dystopian  science fiction  fantasy  romance  friendship  illness & grief 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Wither  (2011)
2.   Fever  (2012)
3.   Sever  (2013)
+   Seeds of Wither  (2011)