Blood Red Road

by Moira Young (Author)

Book Cover for Blood Red Road

   Book 1   
Pages: 420

Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That's fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba's world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.

Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she's a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilisation.

Recognition: Costa Book Award for Children's Book (2011); Cybils Award for Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction (2011); Sunburst Award Nominee for Young Adult (2012); Teen Buckeye Book Award Nominee (2012)

Dust Lands Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Dust Lands
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: post-apocalyptic  fantasy  action  adventure  romance  family 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Blood Red Road  (2011)
2.   Rebel Heart  (2012)
3.   Ranging Star  (2014)