by Marie Lu (Author)

Book Cover for Legend

   Book 1   
Pages: 320

The year is 2130. What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Recognition: Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction (2012); ALA Teens' Top Ten Nominee (2012); YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults (2012); Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2014)

Legend Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Legend
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Website: legendtheseries.com
Tags: dystopian  action  fantasy  mystery  crime  romance  post-apocalyptic 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Legend  (2011)
2.   Prodigy  (2013)
3.   Champion  (2013)
+   Life Before Legend  (2012)