The Truth About Verity Sparks

by Susan Green (Author)

Book Cover for The Truth About Verity Sparks

   Book 1   
Pages: 298
Verity Sparks is good at finding lost things, but will she be able to uncover the truth about her own past?

Verity is a thirteen-year-old orphan working as a milliner in Victorian London. But Verity is no ordinary girl – she has an almost perfect memory and possesses the talent of Teleagtivism. She can easily find things that are lost! When Verity is wrongly accused of theft and dismissed from her job, she goes to live with the Plushes – a slightly Bohemian family who run a Confidential Inquiry Agency.

Verity helps them solve cases and slowly becomes one of the family. But patches of the truth about her past begin to surface, along with the special talent that Professor Plush is helping her explore. Who were her real parents? Is she the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter? Who is sending poison pen letters about Verity to the Plushes? Who doesn’t want them to learn the truth about Verity Sparks?

An historical mystery with a dash of the supernatural thrown in; The Truth About Verity Sparks is packed with chases through the dark alleys of London, séances in high-class dining rooms, pet pythons named Anthony and Cleopatra, murdered opera singers and much, much more.

Please Note: This book has also been published under the title Diamonds and Deception: A Verity Sparks Mystery.

Recognition: Book of the Year for Younger Readers Nominee, Children's Book Council of Australia Awards (2012)

Verity Sparks Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Verity Sparks
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: historical  mystery  adventure  paranormal  family  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Truth About Verity Sparks  (2011)
2.   Verity Sparks, Lost and Found  (2013)
3.   Verity Sparks and the Scarlet Hand  (2015)