The Amulet of Samarkand

by Jonathan Stroud (Author)

Book Cover for The Amulet of Samarkand

   Book 1   
Pages: 462

Nathaniel is a magician's apprentice, taking his first lessons in the arts of magic. But when a devious hot-shot wizard named Simon Lovelace ruthlessly humiliates Nathaniel in front of his elders, Nathaniel decides to kick up his education a few notches and show Lovelace who's boss.

With revenge on his mind, he summons the powerful djinni, Bartimaeus. But summoning Bartimaeus and controlling him are two different things entirely, and when Nathaniel sends the djinni out to steal Lovelace's greatest treasure, the Amulet of Samarkand, he finds himself caught up in a whirlwind of magical espionage, murder, and rebellion.

Recognition: ALA's Top Ten Best Books for Young Adults (2004); Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature (2006)

Bartimaeus Sequence Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Bartimaeus Sequence
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  magic  myth & legend  historical  comedy & humour  adventure 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Amulet of Samarkand  (2003)
2.   The Golem's Eye  (2004)
3.   Ptolemy's Gate  (2005)
+   The Ring of Solomon  (2010)