The Kensington Reptilarium

by N J Gemmell (Author)

Book Cover for The Kensington Reptilarium

   Book 1   
Pages: 304

A most unexpected adventure into a world unknown. Enter if you dare . . .

The Caddy kids are having the best time. Dad’s away hunting and eldest sister Kick is looking after Scruff, Pin and Bert – and they’re loving it. Until they find out their father is missing . . .

This is the story of how four loud, grubby urchins from the Aussie outback find themselves in the heart of London, where the first peacetime Christmas after the six long, hard years of World War II promises to be a big one. Except for the Caddy kids. Their Scrooge-like Uncle Basti hates children. He prefers the company of the hundreds of snakes in his terrace house – the fabled Kensington Reptilarium. But fate lends the Caddy kids a helping hand in the guise of the outraged authorities who want to close down the Reptilarium. With the police about to descend – and the kids about to riot if they don’t get their Christmas wishes – can sour old Basti possibly be transformed in time?

A feel-good tale that will have you cheering on these four fearless bush kids as they take on the world!

Recognition: Australian Book Industry Award shortlist for Book of the Year for Older Children (2014)

Caddy Kids Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Caddy Kids
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: historical  adventure  family  friendship  comedy & humour  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Kensington Reptilarium  (2013)
2.   The Icicle Illuminarium  (2014)
3.   The Luna Laboratorium  (2015)