by Andrew Smith (Author)

Book Cover for Winger

   Book 1   
Pages: 440

Ryan Dean West is a fourteen-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids in the Pacific Northwest. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy.

With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way. But when the unthinkable happens, he has to figure out how to hold on to what’s important, even when it feels like everything has fallen apart.

Filled with hand-drawn info-graphics and illustrations and told in a pitch-perfect voice, this realistic depiction of a teen’s experience strikes an exceptional balance of hilarious and heartbreaking.

Recognition: Milwaukee County Teen Book Award Nominee (2014); Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award (ALAN/NCTE) Nominee (2014); Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2015); American Library Association Rainbow List (2014); YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults - Top Ten (2014)

Winger Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Winger
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  comedy & humour  romance  friendship  school  illustrated 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Winger  (2013)
2.   Stand-Off  (2015)