Anne of Avonlea

by Lucy Maud Montgomery (Author)

Book Cover for Anne of Avonlea

   Book 2   
Pages: 276

Five years after coming to Green Gables, Anne is 'half past sixteen' and is now ready to take her place in Avonlea society as the teacher at her former school. She is determined to inspire her pupils’ youthful hearts and minds – but some of students require more unusual teaching methods. Along with teaching the three R’s, she is learning how complicated life can be when she meddles in other people's romances. Anne is also preoccupied with thoughts about the strange behaviour of the very handsome Gilbert Blythe. These concerns, along with running the Avonlea Improvement Society, bring their own headaches for a harum-scarum girl just trying to grow up.

Anne of Green Gables Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Anne of Green Gables
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 12
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: historical  romance  family  classics  friendship  adventure  realistic fiction 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Anne of Green Gables  (1908)
2.   Anne of Avonlea  (1909)
3.   Anne of the Island  (1915)
4.   Anne of Windy Poplars  (1936)
5.   Anne's House of Dreams  (1917)
6.   Anne of Ingleside  (1939)
7.   Rainbow Valley  (1919)
8.   Rilla of Ingleside  (1921)
9.   The Blythes Are Quoted  (2009)
+   Chronicles of Avonlea  (1912)
+   Further Chronicles of Avonlea  (1920)
+   Before Green Gables  (2008)