The Jewel

by Amy Ewing (Author)

Book Cover for The Jewel

   Book 1   
Pages: 368

Today is my last day as Violet Lasting. Tomorrow I become Lot 197.

The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Lone City Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lone City
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: dystopian  romance  fantasy  suspense 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Jewel  (2014)
2.   The White Rose  (2015)
3.   The Black Key  (2016)
+   The House of the Stone  (2015)
+   A Lone City Novella: Garnet's Story  (2016)