by Laurie Halse Anderson (Author)

Book Cover for Forge

   Book 2   
Pages: 298

In this compelling sequel to Chains, acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson shifts perspective from Isabel to Curzon and brings to the page the tale of what it takes for runaway slaves to forge their own paths in a world of obstacles – and in the midst of the American Revolution.

The Patriot Army was shaped and strengthened by the desperate circumstances of the Valley Forge winter. This is where Curzon the boy becomes Curzon the young man. In addition to the hardships of soldiering, he lives with the fear of discovery, for he is an escaped slave passing for free. And then there is Isabel, who is also at Valley Forge – against her will. She and Curzon have to sort out the tangled threads of their friendship while figuring out what stands between the two of them and true freedom.

Recognition: NAIBA Book of the Year for Middle Readers (2011)

Seeds of America Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Seeds of America
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  culture  friendship  historical 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Chains  (2008)
2.   Forge  (2010)
3.   Ashes  (2016)