The Letter for the King

by Tonke Dragt (Author)

Book Cover for The Letter for the King

   Book 1   
Pages: 560

The rule-book says that a young man who is to be knighted by King Dagonaut must pass the eve of the grand ceremony in silent vigil. However, Young Tiuri, son of the famous Tiuri the Valiant, breaks the rules – he opens the door to a stranger, who begs him to deliver a secret letter to the Black Knight with the White Shield. The letter is destined for the ruler of the neighbouring realm, King Unauwen, and concerns a matter of paramount importance.

Tiuri accepts this dangerous mission, but when he arrives at the appointed place deep in the forest, he finds the Knight dying, murdered by the vicious Red Riders. As he races to deliver the letter to King Unauwen in the Knight's stead, Tiuri is pursued by the Red Riders, who threaten his life – but he is determined to fulfil his promise: the Black Knight must not have died in vain...

Recognition: Kinderboek van het jaar (1963); Gouden Griffel for Griffel der griffels (2004)

Letter for the King Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Letter for the King
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  magic  medieval  classic  royalty 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Letter for the King  (1962)
2.   The Secrets of the Wild Wood  (1963)