The Sweet Far Thing

by Libba Bray (Author)

Book Cover for The Sweet Far Thing

   Book 3   
Pages: 819

It has been a turbulent year since Gemma Doyle arrived at the foreboding Spence Academy. With her mother murdered and her father incapacitated by his addiction to laudanum, Gemma has relied on an unexpected strength and has discovered an ability to travel to an enchanted world called the realms, where dark magic runs wild. Despite certain peril, Gemma has bound the magic to herself and forged unlikely new alliances. Now, as Gemma approaches her London debut, the time has come to test these bonds. The Order - the mysterious group of which her mother was once a part - is grappling for control of the realms. Gemma must decide once and for all what role she is meant for.

Recognition: ALA Teens' Top Ten (2008)

Gemma Doyle Trilogy Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Gemma Doyle Trilogy
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: paranormal  fantasy  historical  illness & grief 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   A Great and Terrible Beauty  (2003)
2.   Rebel Angels  (2005)
3.   The Sweet Far Thing  (2007)