by Scott Westerfeld (Author)

Book Cover for Uglies

   Book 1   
Pages: 432

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. In just a few weeks she'll have the operation that will turn her from a repellent "Ugly" into a stunning "Pretty". And as a Pretty, she'll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun. But Tally's new friend Shay isn't sure she wants to become a Pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of her society – and it isn't very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally's choice will change her world forever...

Recognition: Abraham Lincoln Award (2007); South Carolina Book Award Nominee for Young Adult Book Award (2008); Georgia Peach Honor Book Award (2008)

Uglies Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Uglies
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: dystopian  science fiction  fantasy  romance 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Uglies  (2005)
2.   Pretties  (2005)
3.   Specials  (2006)
4.   Extras  (2007)