Part One: On the Road to Africa

by Alastair Humphreys (Author) Tom Morgan-Jones (Illustrator)

Book Cover for Part One: On the Road to Africa

   Book 1   
Pages: 192

Discover Africa by bicycle in book one of a delightful children's adaptation of Alastair Humphreys' journey around the world.

In this charming caricature of Alastair Humphreys' infamous circumnavigation of the world on his bike, children are swept along with the character of Tom, an adventurous boy who feels there must be more to life than school. The first part of The Boy Who Biked the World follows Tom leaving England, cycling through Europe and all the way through Africa to the tip of South Africa.

Along the way, young readers are introduced not only to the various fascinating landscapes he passes through, but also to the various people who so happily embrace him as he traveled on his journey. With engaging illustrations, postcards, and journal entries throughout, this book provides an immersive experience for any young adventurer.

Boy Who Biked the World Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Boy Who Biked the World
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: non fiction  adventure  culture  nature  sport  illustrated 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Part One: On the Road to Africa  (2011)
2.   Part Two: Riding the Americas   (2012)
3.   Part Three: Riding Home through Asia  (2016)