The Ever After

by Jodi Lynn Anderson (Author)

Book Cover for The Ever After

   Book 1   
Pages: 352

Most people aren't very comfortable in the woods, but the woods of Briery Swamp fit May Bird like a fuzzy mitten. There, she is safe from school and the taunts and teases of kids who don't understand her. Hidden in the trees, May is a warrior princess, and her cat, Somber Kitty, is her brave guardian.Then May falls into the lake.

When she crawls out, May finds herself in a world that most certainly does not feel like a fuzzy mitten. In fact it is a place few living people have ever seen. Here, towns glow blue beneath zipping stars and the people – people? – walk through walls. Here the Book of the Dead holds the answers to everything in the universe. And here, if May is discovered, the horrifyingly evil Bo Cleevil will turn her into nothing.

May Bird must get out.


In this introduction to a mystical and frightening fantasy series, Jodi Lynn Anderson shares with us the beginning of May Bird's daring journey into the Ever After, a haunting place where true friends – and one terrible foe – await.

Please Note: This book was originally published as May Bird and the Ever After.

May Bird Trilogy Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: May Bird Trilogy
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 3
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  paranormal  magic  horror 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Ever After  (2005)
2.   Among the Stars  (2006)
3.   Warrior Princess  (2007)