by Lyn White (Series Editor) John Heffernan (Author)

Book Cover for Hotaka

   Book 1   
Pages: 224

A moving story about one boy caught up in the Japanese earthquake and tsunami of 2011.

When the tsunami strikes the Japanese coastal town of Omori-wan, the effects are utterly devastating. Three years later, much of what happened on that day is still a mystery. As Hotaka sets about convincing local performers to appear at the town's upcoming Memorial Concert, he finds himself increasingly haunted by memories of his best friend Takeshi. When strong willed Sakura initiates a controversial anti-seawall movement, there is danger at every turn for Hotaka and his friends. As the town and its people struggle to rebuild their lives, can Hotaka help Omori-wan look to the future – and let go of his past?

Through My Eyes: Natural Disaster Zones Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Through My Eyes: Natural Disaster Zones
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? No
Next release: March 2018
Tags: nature  historical  culture  religion  family  illness & grief 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Hotaka  (2017)
2.   Shaozhen  (2017)
3.   Lyla  (2018)
4.   Angel  (2019)