Many Waters

by Madeleine L'Engle (Author)

Book Cover for Many Waters

   Book 4   
Pages: 368

When Sandy and Dennys accidentally interrupt their father's experiment, they are thrown across time and space, and find themselves alone in the desert. Here, if they believe in unicorns, they can find unicorns, and whether they believe or not, mammoths and manticores will find them.

Each boy is quickly embroiled in the conflicts of this time and place, whose populations includes winged seraphim, a few stray mythic beasts, perilous and beautiful nephilim, and small, long lived humans who consider Sandy and Dennys giants. The boys find they have more to do in the oasis than simply getting themselves home - they have to reunite an estranged father and son, but it won't be easy, especially when the son is named Noah and he's about to start building a boat in the desert...

Time Quintet Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Time Quintet
Reading level: 10+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: science fiction  fantasy  adventure  classic  time travel 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   A Wrinkle in Time  (1962)
2.   A Wind in the Door  (1973)
3.   A Swiftly Tilting Planet  (1978)
4.   Many Waters  (1986)
5.   An Acceptable Time  (1989)