The Eye of Zeus

by Alane Adams (Author)

Book Cover for The Eye of Zeus

   Book 1   
Pages: 304

Meet Phoebe Katz, a twelve-year-old foster kid from New York City who’s been bounced around the system her entire life. Things happen around Phoebe, but it’s not like they’re her fault! But when a statue of Athena comes to life, Phoebe gets the stunning news she’s the daughter of Zeus, has a twin brother named Perseus—and was sent away from ancient Greece as a baby to stop a terrible prophecy that predicted she would one day destroy Olympus.

Athena warns Phoebe to stay in hiding, but when the vengeful god Ares kidnaps her beloved social worker, Phoebe has no choice—she has to travel back to ancient Greece and rescue him! There, Phoebe and her friends Angie and Damian discover a new prophecy, one that may fix everything. The catch: Phoebe has to collect talismans from six Greek monsters, including the fang from a nine-headed hydra, a talon from the Nemean lion, and a feather from the sphinx. No problem for a girl with the power to call up lightning bolts and change the weather! But can Phoebe collect them all and stop the prophecy before she destroys Olympus?

“This charming and brilliant novel is superbly plotted and will win over readers . . . Phoebe’s voice is dead on and authentic, as are those of her friends."—Publishers Weekly, BookLife Prize Critic’s Report

"With twists, loyalty between friends, and its cast's cleverness, the middle grade fantasy The Eye of Zeus hits all the right notes."—Forward Reviews

Legends of Olympus Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Legends of Olympus
Reading level: 8+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: myth & legend  friendship  action  illustrated  family  mystery  time travel  adventure 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Eye of Zeus  (2020)
2.   The Medusa Quest  (2021)