The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain

by Lloyd Alexander (Author)

Book Cover for The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain

Companion book
Pages: 98

The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain is a collection of short high fantasy stories. All are prequels to The Chronicles of Prydain, Alexander's award-winning series of five novels published 1964 to 1968. The 1973 first edition of this book includes six stories; the 1999 edition, includes eight stories.

The stories include: The Foundling, The Stone, The True Enchanter, The Rascal Crow, The Sword, The Smith, the Weaver, and the Harper, Coll and His White Pig, and The Truthful Harp.

Chronicles of Prydain Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Chronicles of Prydain
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 6
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  animal  medieval  myth & legend  magic  classic  royalty 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   The Book of Three  (1964)
2.   The Black Cauldron  (1965)
3.   The Castle of Llyr  (1966)
4.   Taran Wanderer  (1967)
5.   The High King  (1968)
+   The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain  (1973)