by Veronica Roth (Author)

Book Cover for Divergent
5.00 5.00 (1 reviews)
   Book 1   
Pages: 487

In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group. Beatrice must make a decision, however, between staying with her family and being who she really is — she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are - and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves...or it might destroy her.

Recognition: Goodreads Choice Award for Favorite Book (2011) and for Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction (2011), ALA Teens' Top Ten Nominee (2012), Children's Choice Book Award Nominee for Teen Choice Book of the Year (2012), DABWAHA (=Dear Author Bitchery Writing Award for Hella Authors) for Best Young Adult Romance (2012)

Reviews   [Email Reviews to submit a book/series review]
Jim Nielsen5

Divergent is a great book, a crowning achievement for Veronica Roth. As a piece of modern dystopian fiction it is a real masterpiece. The book is full of original ideas that are well explored and developed. Not as well known as the Hunger Games, but in every way a better book. [August 2013]

Divergent Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Divergent
Reading level: 13+
Books in series: 9
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: dystopian  action  mystery  romance 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Divergent  (2011)
2.   Insurgent  (2012)
3.   Allegiant  (2013)
+   Free Four  (2012)
+   The Transfer  (2013)
+   The Initiate  (2014)
+   The Son  (2014)
+   The Traitor  (2014)
+   Four: A Divergent Collection  (2013)