Finnikin of the Rock

by Melina Marchetta (Author)

Book Cover for Finnikin of the Rock

   Book 1   
Pages: 416

Finnikin of the Rock and his guardian, Sir Topher, have not been home to their beloved Lumatere for ten years. Not since the dark days when the royal family was murdered and the kingdom put under a terrible curse. But then Finnikin is summoned to meet Evanjalin, a young woman with an incredible claim: the heir to the throne of Lumatere, Prince Balthazar, is alive.

Evanjalin is determined to return home and she is the only one who can lead them to the heir. As they journey together, Finnikin is affected by her arrogance...and her hope. He begins to believe he will see his childhood friend, Prince Balthazar, again. And that their cursed people will be able to enter Lumatere and be reunited with those trapped inside. He even believes he will find his imprisoned father.

But Evanjalin is not what she seems. And the truth will test not only Finnikin's faith in her...but in himself.

Recognition: A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year (2010), Australian Book Industry Award for Book of the Year for Older Children (2009), Children's Book Council of Australia Awards Nominee for Book of the Year - Older Readers (2009), Booklist Top Ten Science Fiction/Fantasy Novels for Youth (2010), Aurealis Award for Young Adult Novel (2008), Sakura Medal Nominee for High School Book (2010), YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults (2011), ALA's Top Ten Best Books for Young Adults (2011), Publishers Weekly's Best Children's Books of the Year for Fiction (2010), YALSA Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults (2011), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2013)

Lumatere Chronicles Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Lumatere Chronicles
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: action  fantasy  mystery  myth & legend  medieval  romance  royalty 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Finnikin of the Rock  (2008)
2.   Froi of the Exiles  (2011)
3.   Quintana of Charyn  (2012)
+   Ferragost  (2012)