The Katy Carr Series

by Susan Coolidge (Author)

Book Cover for the Katy Carr Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 5
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: classics  historical  culture  family 

Twelve-year-old Katy Carr lives with her widowed father and her five younger brothers and sisters in a small Ohioan town called Burnet. Katy intends to be beautiful and beloved and as sweet as an angel one day. For now, though, her hair is forever in a tangle, her dress is always torn and she doesn't care at all for being called 'good'. But then a terrible accident happens and Katy must find the courage to remember her daydreams and the delightful plans she once schemed; for when she is grown up she wants to do something grand!


This classic series will be cherished by children who enjoy L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon series, as well as Louisa May Alcott's Little Women.

Katy Carr Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. What Katy Did  (1872)
2. What Katy Did at School  (1873)
3. What Katy Did Next  (1886)
4. Clover  (1888)
5. In the High Valley  (1890)