The Clarice Bean Picture Books Series

by Lauren Child (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Clarice Bean Picture Books Series
Reading level: Ages 5 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: illustrated  comedy & humour  family  friendship 

I know lots of people, most of them in my family.
Some of them live in our house,
and some of them just visit.
We are always raising a ruckus,
but that's the way we (mostly) like it.

When your annoying little brother shares your room, your older brother is in the tunnel of adolescence, your dad hides in his office eating rocky road ice cream and swaying to Frank Sinatra, and your mother listens to foreign language tapes in a candlelit bathtub, what can you do to get away from it all?

Meet the feisty Clarice Bean and sympathise with her search for just a little peace and quiet amidst a family many of us will recognise only too well. In her brilliant picture book debut, Lauren Child's witty text and jazzy illustrations capture the wonderful wacky chaos of a large extended family from the hilarious vantage point of one of its youngest members.

Clarice Bean Picture Books Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Clarice Bean, That's Me!  (1999)
2. My Uncle Is A Hunkle, Says Clarice Bean   (2001)
3. Clarice Bean, What Planet Are You From?  (2001)