The Chemical Garden Series

by Lauren DeStefano (Author)

Book Cover for the Chemical Garden Series
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: dystopian  science fiction  fantasy  romance  friendship  illness & grief 

By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. She can thank modern science for this genetic time bomb. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years.

Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear children for wealthy men. When Rhine is kidnapped and sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. . .

Chemical Garden Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Wither  (2011)
2. Fever  (2012)
3. Sever  (2013)
+ Seeds of Wither  (2011)