The Allan Quatermain Series

by Henry Rider Haggard (Author)

Book Cover for the Allan Quatermain Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 15
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: action  adventure  classics  historical  culture  myth & legend 

H. Rider Haggard's Allan Quatermain series has entertained generations of readers since the initial publication of King Solomon's Mines in 1885. Allan Quatermain is an English-born professional big game hunter and occasional trader in southern Africa. He is an imperial outdoorsman who finds English cities and climate unbearable. He prefers to spend most of his life in Africa, where he grew up under the care of his widower father, a Christian missionary.

Following a mysterious map of dubious reliability, our hero and a small group of loyal men trek into southern Africa in search of a lost friend – and a lost treasure, the fabled mines of King Solomon. Together they discover a frozen corpse, survive untold dangers in remote mountains and deserts, and encounter the merciless King Twala en route to the legendary hoard of diamonds.

The first great "Lost World" action-adventure series – a precursor to Indiana Jones and a classic tale of bravery and exploration like no other. See also the Ayesha series by H. Rider Haggard.

Allan Quatermain Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. King Solomon's Mines  (1885)
2. Allan Quatermain  (1887)
3. Allan's Wife  (1887)
4. Maiwa's Revenge  (1888)
5. Marie  (1912)
6. Child of Storm  (1913)
7. Allan and the Holy Flower  (1915)
8. The Ivory Child  (1916)
9. Finished  (1917)
10. The Ancient Allan  (1920)
11. She and Allan  (1920)
12. Heu-Heu, or the Monster  (1924)
13. The Treasure of the Lake  (1926)
14. Allan Quatermain and the Ice Gods  (1927)
+ Hunter Quatermain's Story: The Uncollected Adventures of Allan Quatermain  (1887)