The Slammed Series

by Colleen Hoover (Author)

Book Cover for the Slammed Series
5.00 5.00 (1 reviews)
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: romance  family  friendship  comedy & humour  music & poetry  realistic fiction  illness & grief 

Falling in love can feel like poetry. Or it can feel like a slam to the heart.

Colleen Hoover's romantic, emotion-packed series unforgettably captures all the magic and confusion of first love. After the death of her father, Layken reluctantly moves to a new town with her mother and younger brother. There she meets Will, and the two forge an unlikely bond before discovering that fate has other plans for them.

Slammed Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Slammed  (2012)
2. Point of Retreat  (2012)
3. This Girl  (2013)


Colleen Hoover blends music and poetry, humour and heartache, in her beguiling and romantic 'Slammed' series. It's the story of Layken and Will, mature beyond their years due to the challenges they've separately faced, but optimistic when they meet that life is finally giving them a break and a much-needed fresh start. Will introduces Layken to slam poetry, a form of competition poetry where participants read or recite their work. Throughout the series, Hoover uses moving and witty slam poetry to help define key characters, and convey strong emotions and pivotal moments. Layken and Will's shared appreciation for slam poetry strengthens their initial connection, but elation is short lived as circumstances conspire to keep them apart and family responsibilities weigh heavily. In addition to her immensely appealing main characters, Hoover gives her story considerable depth and humour with strong secondary characters in the younger brothers, Kel and Caulder, off-beat friends Eddie and Gavin, and Layken's conflicted mother, Julia. A thoroughly enjoyable read.