The Mortal Instruments Series

by Cassandra Clare (Author)

Book Cover for the Mortal Instruments Series
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Books in series: 7
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: paranormal  fantasy  romance 

When 15 year old Clary Fray heads out to a nightclub in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air.

What do you do when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is no evidence to show that a boy has died? Or was he a boy?

This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary?

Mortal Instruments Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. City of Bones  (2007)
2. City of Ashes  (2008)
3. City of Glass  (2009)
4. City of Fallen Angels  (2011)
5. City of Lost Souls  (2012)
6. City of Heavenly Fire  (2014)
+ Shadowhunters and Downworlders: A Mortal Instruments Reader  (2013)