The Stargirl Series

by Jerry Spinelli (Author)

Book Cover for the Stargirl Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  romance  school  friendship 

She's as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she's from. But everyone loves her for being different. And she captures Leo's heart with just one smile.

Told from the perspective of Leo Borlock, an eleventh-grade student at Mica Area High School in Arizona, the Stargirl duology features his budding relationship with eccentric new classmate Susan Caraway, known as 'Stargirl.' But while Leo wonders at Stargirl's compassionate nature and unconventional worldview, she is scorned and ostracised by most other students.

Individuality, diversity, and acceptance feature heavily in Spinelli's now-classic Stargirl series. These life-changing novels celebrate being true to oneself and the thrill of first love. Perfect for fans of John Green and David Levithan.

Stargirl Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Stargirl  (2000)
2. Love, Stargirl  (2007)