The Scary Stories Series

by Alvin Schwartz (Author) Stephen Gammell (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Scary Stories Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: horror  fantasy  paranormal  myth & legend  culture  illustrated 

This spooky series is part of Alvin Schwartz's larger collection of books on American folklore is filled with tales of eerie horror and dark revenge that will make you jump with fright.

Stories range from creepy to terrifying – skeletons with torn and tangled flesh who roam the earth; a ghost who takes revenge on her murderer; and a haunted house where every night a bloody head falls down the chimney.

Stephen Gammell's splendidly creepy drawings perfectly capture the mood of the dozens of scary stories contained in these volumes . . . all just right for reading alone under the covers or for telling aloud in the dark.

Please Note: These books contain stories and images which may be upsetting to younger or more sensitive readers.