The Maximum Ride: The Manga Series

by James Patterson (Author) NaRae Lee (Illustrator/Adapter)

Book Cover for the Maximum Ride: The Manga Series
Reading level: Ages 11 and up
Books in series: 9
Read in order: Yes
Next book: December 2017
Tags: graphic novel  action  fantasy  science fiction  paranormal  mystery 

Fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride, better known as Max, knows what it’s like to soar above the world. She and all the members of the "flock" – Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman and Angel are just like ordinary kids – only they have wings and can fly. It may seem like a dream come true to some, but their lives can morph into a living nightmare at any time... like when Angel, the youngest member of the flock, is kidnapped and taken back to the "School" where she and the others were experimented on by a crew of wack jobs.

Her friends must brave a journey to blazing hot Death Valley to save Angel, but soon enough, they find themselves in yet another nightmare – this one involving fighting off the half-human, half-wolf "Erasers" in New York City.

Whether in the treetops of Central Park or in the bowels of the Manhattan subway system, Max and her adopted family take the ride of their lives. Along the way Max discovers from her old friend and father-figure Jeb—now her betrayed and greatest enemy – that her purpose is save the world... but can she?

Maximum Ride: The Manga Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Maximum Ride Volume 1  (2009)
2. Maximum Ride Volume 2  (2009)
3. Maximum Ride Volume 3  (2010)
4. Maximum Ride Volume 4  (2011)
5. Maximum Ride Volume 5  (2011)
6. Maximum Ride Volume 6  (2012)
7. Maximum Ride Volume 7  (2013)
8. Maximum Ride Volume 8  (2014)
9. Maximum Ride Volume 9  (2015)