The Faraway Tree Series

by Enid Blyton (Author)

Book Cover for the Faraway Tree Series
Reading level: Ages 6 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: adventure  magic  fairies  illustrated  classics 

The Faraway Tree is a gigantic magical tree that grows in an enchanted forest. It is so tall, that its topmost branches reach into the clouds, while its trunk is wide enough to contain the small houses of magical folk - like fairies and pixies. But most amazing of all, at the very top of the tree, strange lands come and go... lands filled with adventure!

Jo, Bessie and Fanny move to the country, where their father is to start a new job. Eager to explore, the children find this mysterious tree filled with magic and wonder, and make friends with entertaining characters like Moon-Face, Mister Watzisname, Silky, and the hilarious Saucepan Man. Together with their new friends, the children explore the different lands that arrive at the top of the tree, and have many exciting adventures.

Faraway Tree Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Enchanted Wood  (1939)
2. The Magic Faraway Tree  (1943)
3. The Folk of the Faraway Tree  (1946)