The Adventures of Tintin Series

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Adventures of Tintin Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 24
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

Clever and ever-curious, Tintin is a reporter-turned-detective whose pursuit of villains, criminals, treasure and the occasional hostorical artefact takes him all over the world. Join Tintin and a colorful cast of friends, including his faithful dog Snowy, Captain Haddock, absent-minded Professor Calculus and the Twins, as they embark on an extraordinary adventures spanning historical and political events, fantasy and science-fiction adventures and thrilling mysteries. These full-color graphic novels broke new ground when they were first released and became the inspiration for countless modern-day comic artists. . Belgian-artist Hergé based his stories on real-world events and cultures that had caught the Belgian national attention—from space exploration to Arab oil wars—and brought them to life for his readers in inspiring and exciting ways.

The series was one of the most popular European comics of the 20th century, and it remains popular today. By the time of the centenary of Hergé's birth in 2007, Tintin had been published in more than 70 languages with sales of more than 200 million copies.

Recognition: International Campaign for Tibet's 'Light of Truth' Award (2006) granted to the character Tintin by the Dalai Lama

Adventures of Tintin Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2. Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3. Tintin in America  (1932)
4. Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5. The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6. The Broken Ear  (1937)
7. The Black Island  (1937)
8. King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9. The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10. The Shooting Star  (1942)
11. The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12. Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13. The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14. Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15. Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16. Destination Moon  (1953)
17. Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18. The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19. The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20. Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21. The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22. Flight 714  (1968)
23. Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24. Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)