Tintin and Alph-Art

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for Tintin and Alph-Art

   Book 24   
Pages: 64

Tintin and Alph-Art is the twenty-fourth story in the Tintin series and was left unfinished. Hergé decided to write a story about something close to his heart: the world of contemporary art. For the main plot, the author wove together stories about a corrupt spiritual guru and a secret art-forging business.

In the story, Tintin receives a telephone call from Bianca Castafiore, who tells him that she has arrived in Belgium for a few days. She also tells Tintin about her new spiritual leader, Endaddine Akass. Soon after, Captain Haddock visits an art gallery and buys a piece of 'Alph-Art' – the letter “H” in plastic. The owner of the gallery is killed in an apparent accident while on his way to visit Tintin. Suspicious of the accident, Tintin begins to uncover a network of criminals.

Many old characters and some new ones show up in this adventure. Tintin thinks that he has heard the voice of the mastermind, Endaddine Akass, behind the sect and the art forgeries before. Unfortunately, the story ends prematurely, before the criminal can be unmasked – Hergé died before he could complete Tintin's final adventure – though it has been speculated that Hergé ultimately intended for the guru Endaddine Akass to be Rastapopoulos in disguise.

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)