Tintin in the Congo

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for Tintin in the Congo

   Book 2   
Pages: 62

In Tintin in the Congo, Tintin and Snowy travel to central Africa to report on the situation in the Belgian Congo. Upon arrival, the duo gets pulled into a variety of adventures, encountering wild animals, angry natives and American diamond smugglers controlled by infamous mobster Al Capone.

With the help of a Congolese boy, Coco, Tintin works to improve the lives of the local population, despite close calls with crocodiles, lions, monkeys and all kinds of exotic wildlife. It is not long before he begins to uncover a sinister criminal organization exploiting the Congo for financial gain. Not only does Tintin have to watch his back to make sure the bad guys don’t trap him, but he also has to work to convince some of the locals of his good intentions. This means going up against the tribal witch doctor, who is in secret allegiance with Al Capone’s henchman. If he wants to survive this adventure, Tintin really has to stay on his toes!

Please Note: First published in book form in 1931 (in black & white only), Tintin in the Congo reflects the colonial attitudes of that period in its depiction of African people and its content may be considered controversial for a modern audience.This is also true of the treatment of big-game hunting and the attitude towards animals. Herge himself admitted that he was influenced by the racial and cultural stereotypes of the period.

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)