Tintin and the Picaros

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for Tintin and the Picaros

   Book 23   
Pages: 62

Most of Tintin and the Picaros takes place in the fictional country of San Theodoros, an unstable state first depicted in the Tintin story The Broken Ear. Two colourful characters are perpetually fighting for control: General Alcazar and General Tapioca. At the time the story is set, the latter is the master of the country, and Alcazar has been forced into hiding.

Bianca Castafiore travels to San Theodoros to give a concert. She is arrested by Tapioca’s authorities on a trumped-up charge of plotting against him. Behind the scenes, Tapioca’s regime is being aided by the Bordurians and Colonel Sponsz.

Tintin, Haddock and Calculus are determined to rescue their friend and, along the way, they end up helping General Alcazar plan a coup to snatch power back from his rival. However, the plans are complicated by the fact that General Tapioca keeps Alcazar’s men supplied with whiskey, ensuring their ineffectiveness as a fighting force. All hope now depends on Professor Calculus and his new invention!

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)