King Ottokar's Sceptre

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for King Ottokar's Sceptre

   Book 8   
Pages: 62

This adventure begins with a briefcase left on a park bench in Brussels. The case belongs to Professor Alembick, a sigillographer (a specialist in the study of stamps and wax seals). Doing his good deed for the day, Tintin returns the briefcase to the professor, and it is not long before he joins Alembick on a trip to Syldavia!

Upon his arrival in the Balkans, Tintin begins to uncover a plot aimed at dethroning King Muskar XII, the ruler of Syldavia. In Syldavian tradition, the king maintains his power by presenting the royal sceptre of his ancestor, King Ottokar, to his people on Saint Vladimir’s Day each year. Fascist plotters plan to steal the sceptre and force the king to cancel the traditional ceremony, which would create political instability.

The plotters are working for the interests of Borduria, a neighboring country determined to annex Syldavia. The mastermind of the plot is a certain Müsstler. In true Tintin-fashion, our hero undertakes to recover the stolen sceptre and foil the coup.

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)