The Black Island

by Hergé (Author)

Book Cover for The Black Island

   Book 7   
Pages: 62

Tintin hopes for a brief rest following his escapades in Latin America (The Broken Ear), but his hopes are quickly dashed. As he comes to the aid of an aircraft that has made a forced landing, one of the pilots shoots at him. This is the beginning of an adventure that takes Tintin to Great Britain, where certain people are determined to make him disappear once and for all. Framed for theft, Tintin is arrested by Thomson & Thompson, who are on the trail of a gang of counterfeiters.

Tintin discovers that the head of the organisation is the sinister Doctor J.W. Müller, and that the printing press used to create the false money is hidden on the terrifying Black Island, off the coast of Scotland. According to local folklore, the island is haunted by a wild beast. Will Tintin discover the truth behind these stories?

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)