The Broken Ear

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for The Broken Ear

   Book 6   
Pages: 62

After visiting Russia, Africa, the Middle East and the Far East, Tintin sets off for South America. A mysterious statue created by the fierce South American Arumbaya tribe has disappeared, and Tintin is not the only one looking for it. Much of the narrative plays out in San Theodoros, a banana republic constantly changing hands between corrupt dictator General Tapioca and his arch-rival, General Alcazar.

The madcap adventure takes Tintin deep within the tropical jungle, where he narrowly avoids a dangerous snake and nearly has his head shrunk by tribal warriors. When he falls victim to a setup and is arrested as a terrorist, he is condemned to death by firing squad! However, there is a revolution on the horizon. Could it be his ticket to freedom?

Teeming with conspiracies and bomb plots, The Broken Ear takes Tintin on a tropical adventure, and leads him to hidden native civilizations, thieving criminals and long-lost explorers!

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)