The Crab with the Golden Claws

by Hergé (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for The Crab with the Golden Claws

   Book 9   
Pages: 62

Tintin and Snowy have stumbled upon a police investigation underway in Brussels, revolving around the mystery of a drowned man. Tintin sets off on a new adventure in which he travels to the exotic country of Morocco, hot on the trail of a gang of opium smugglers. This adventure is the backdrop for the first meeting between Tintin and Captain Haddock, an irascible sailor who remains by Tintin’s side for the rest of the reporter’s adventures.

When we first meet Haddock, the captain is in a bad way: he’s an alcoholic and a virtual prisoner of the ship’s mate, Allan. But Tintin takes the captain under his wing and their many adventures together begin.

Adventures of Tintin Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Adventures of Tintin
Reading level: 9+
Books in series: 24
Read in order? No
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  classic  mystery  comedy & humour  adventure  culture 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tintin in the Land of the Soviets  (1929)
2.   Tintin in the Congo  (1930)
3.   Tintin in America  (1932)
4.   Cigars of the Pharaoh  (1934)
5.   The Blue Lotus  (1935)
6.   The Broken Ear  (1937)
7.   The Black Island  (1937)
8.   King Ottokar's Sceptre  (1939)
9.   The Crab with the Golden Claws  (1941)
10.   The Shooting Star  (1942)
11.   The Secret of the Unicorn  (1943)
12.   Red Rackham's Treasure  (1945)
13.   The Seven Crystal Balls  (1948)
14.   Prisoners of the Sun  (1949)
15.   Land of Black Gold  (1950)
16.   Destination Moon  (1953)
17.   Explorers of the Moon  (1954)
18.   The Calculus Affair  (1956)
19.   The Red Sea Sharks  (1958)
20.   Tintin in Tibet  (1960)
21.   The Castafiore Emerald  (1963)
22.   Flight 714  (1968)
23.   Tintin and the Picaros  (1976)
24.   Tintin and Alph-Art  (1986)